Managing licenses, groups and users

This chapter details how the License Server can be used to manage licenses, license groups and individual users.


License types

License Server supports the following license types: managed and floating. The total availability counts for both managed and floating seats are displayed in the upper right corner of the License Server UI. Clicking on either seat count opens the relevant user listing in the Users view.


Managed licenses

The managed license is the main enterprise license type since 2015.

Managed seats are permanently assigned to developers identified by their email addresses. The developer needs to specify his email address along with the License Server Group URL in the activation dialog.

To use a managed seat on another device, the developer needs to activate the new device using automated email authorization. The managed seats can be reassigned once the developer leaves the company. Reassigning managed seats is restricted and cannot be performed on a daily basis.

Warning

Managed licenses cannot be used with shared virtual machine setups that come with JRebel pre-installed.


Floating licenses

The floating license was the common enterprise license type up until the end of 2014. Customers with valid floating licenses can continue using these licenses until expiration. Floating seats are provided to developers on a first come, first serve basis. The developers do not need to enter anything beside the License Server Group URL to obtain a seat. The server is pinged every minute and the seat is returned to the pool when the connection is lost.


Managing licenses

Uploading licenses

License Server operates using licenses that have been uploaded to the server itself. When purchasing licenses in bulk, you will receive a license file. You will need to upload this file to your License Server in order to make seats available to users activating with the License Server.

  1. Access the Licenses section of the License Server.
  2. Locate the section titled Add New License.
  3. Press Select file and browse to the license file. Once found, press Upload to add the license to the License Server.
../_images/upload-license.png

To verify that this was successful, observe the licenses details in the top right corner of the screen. After uploading a license for X developers, it should state: Seats: 0/X. When no licenses are uploaded, this counter should display 0/0. Note that following a successful license upload, the counter in the upper right corner now displays for example Managed seats: 0/7. This means that there are 7 shiny new managed seats available and none are taken yet.

../_images/upload-license-success.png

Deleting licenses

You can remove unused license files from your License Server.

  1. Access the Licenses section of the License Server.
  2. Locate the desired license in the licenses table.
  3. Press the delete button located in the Action column of the table. You will be asked to confirm this procedure.

Buying additional licenses

Press the Buy additional licenses button in the Licenses section to quickly access the license purchase page https://zeroturnaround.com/software/jrebel/buy/.


Managing users and groups

Managing groups

License Server groups management provides flexible control for access and limits the scope of risk. Each group of users is given a unique Group URL that developers use to activate their product. Groups can be created to match the organization structure. We recommend using smaller groups (e.g. team-based groups). Having smaller groups makes it easier to regenerate and distribute a new Group URL when the old one becomes compromised.


Adding groups

Follow these steps to add a new group.

  1. Access the Users & Groups section of the License Server.
  2. Select the Groups tab from the left.
  3. Locate the section titled Add Group.
  4. Specify the following items for the new group:
  1. Group name - give your group an easily recognizable name.
  2. License type - select whether the new group is going to use managed or floating licenses.
  3. Advanced Options - from here, you can further specify whether the group should be restricted to a limited number of users and whether it should be restricted to a network subnet of your specification.
  1. Press Create to create the new group.

Pressing Create and Email will create the new group and immediately open the email field for it.


Renaming groups

You can quickly rename an existing group by hovering over its title in the Name column and pressing the pencil icon that appears. Specify the new name and press Save to confirm. Alternatively, press Cancel to discard the change.


Emailing Group URL

emailbutton The Users & Groups section allows you to quickly email a Group URL to multiple users. Simply press the Send to Users button in the Actions column and enter the desired email address. Press Send to generate the email.


Editing groups

wrenchbutton You can quickly edit the settings for any group by clicking the Configure IP filter button in the Actions column. From here, you can define whether the group should be restricted to a limited number of users and whether it should be restricted to a network subnet of your specification. Once a subnet restriction is introduced, the IP address is displayed in the Total Users column for the group.


Regenerating Group URL

regenbutton Regenerating a Group URL can be required when the Group URL is accidentally leaked. To do this, press the Regenerate Secret Token button in the Actions column. You will be asked to confirm this procedure.


Deleting groups

deletegroupbutton You can delete a group from the License Server that is no longer required. To do this, press the Delete group button in the Actions column. You will be asked to confirm this procedure.


Managing users

You can view all identified users that connect to the License Server for activation via the Users table. This table lists the user’s name (where applicable) as well as the user’s group (when defined) and license type. The table also includes the time when the user was last active and when using offline mode, its duration. The last column of the table allows blocking and unblocking managed license users.

You can also filter the table according to a user group of your choice. To do this, open the drop-down menu in the table header’s Group column and select a group. The default choice is any, displaying all users.


Adding administrators

To add another License Server administrator, simply follow these steps:

  1. Access Configuration.
  2. Select Users.
  3. Specify the new administrator’s email address and password.
  4. Open Select Role and select Administrator.
  5. Press Save.

Blocking and unblocking users

To block a user, locate the desired user’s name in the Users table and press the block button in the Actions column of the table. You will be asked to confirm this procedure.

Warning

Blocking a user will prevent the user from connecting to the License Server. The managed license seat that the user was occupying before blocking will be made available to a new user. This procedure is restricted and can be used once per seat every 30 days.


Changing existing user email address

To change the email address of an existing License Server user, follow these steps:

  1. Have the user reactivate his device using his new email address (with the existing Group URL).
  2. Verify that the new email address appears in Users and Groups > Users table.
  3. Done!

When activating an existing device with a new email address, the License Server automatically blocks the old email address.

Note

License Server user management is based on email addresses. After reactivation using the new email, the License Server user with the old email should be blocked. Not doing this will cause the user to consume an extra seat. License Server automatically blocks the old user. However, if the user with the old email address is not automatically blocked, a manual block can be done via License Server from Users & Groups > Users.

Do not block the old email before the user has reactivated JRebel with the new email. Doing this will disable reactivation.